QLD VOTES: Everything you need to know

QLD VOTES: Everything you need to know about the state election.
QLD VOTES: Everything you need to know about the state election. David Nielsen

WE ARE heading to the polls today and if you're not among the more than 330,000 who have already sneaked into a pre-polling booth, here's where you have to go to cast your vote in the state election:

- Augathella State School, Cavanagh Street, Augathella

- Charleville Town Hall, Wills Street, Charleville

- Charleville State High School, Partridge Street, Charleville

- Cunnamulla Shire Hall, Cnr Stockyard & Jane Streets, Cunnamulla

- Eulo State School, Leo Street, Eulo

- Mitchell Shire Hall, 2-6 Cambridge Street, Mitchell

- Morven State School, Cnr Warregy Hwy & West Street, Morven

- Quilpie State College, Cnr Boonkai & Chulungra Streets, Quilpie

- Thargomindah State School, 1 Dowling Street, Thargomindah

- Wyandra State School, Moody Street, Wyandra

How it works

ONCE the polling booths close at 6pm, the Electoral Commission of Queensland will begin counting the results for the 93 state electorates. Throughout the evening, the commission will update poll results every two minutes as it works through more than 2.6 million votes.

Who are the Warrego candidates ?

- Independent candidate Sandra Bamberry

- LNP sitting MP Ann Leahy

- Katter Party's Rob Loughnan

- Greens candidate Ian Mazlin

- Labor's Mark O'Brien and

- Independent Mark Stone

The details

This election there are 93 seats in the Queensland Parliament, up from 89, and this is the first expansion of Parliament in 32 years.

Both Labor and the LNP are going into the election with 41 seats and need 47 to form a majority government, with neither party getting enough votes during the last election to govern in their own right.

If Labor and the LNP fail to win a majority in this election, minor parties are once again set to be in a powerful position.

It's possible Katter's Australia Party, a resurgent One Nation and possibly the Greens will decide who governs in another hung parliament.

Got questions?


Topics:  qldelection2017 qld votes state election 2017 warrego

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Leg falls off as sword-wielding ice user strikes

A machete and sword were found at his house after the attack on delivery men.

Man bloodied after motorbike parts delivery turns violent

SSM VOTE: The four MPs who voted 'no' to gay marriage

Former Australian prime minister Tony Abbott leaves the chamber ahead of the final vote on the Marriage Amendment Bill in the House of Representatives at Parliament House in Canberra, Thursday, December 7, 2017.

George Christensen couldn't bring himself to face the vote

Sex videos, rude texts from jealous 'alcoholic'

Sexting, jealousy, and booze made a volatile cocktail.

'Appalling, disgusting' way to use a mobile phone

Local Partners